Advances in Internal Combustion Engines

Short Course Description

This short course provides an introduction to the state of the art in IC engine technology, with an overview on future R&D opportunities. 

Delivered live or online, the 8 hours of instruction covers basic engine operating principles, state of the art advancements in technology for air path systems, fuel and combustion systems, thermal management, waste heat recovery, hybridization, connectivity and autonomy. Particular emphasis is given to the potential impact of each technology on fuel economy, emissions, and on the complexity and costs of implementation in vehicle production. 

A bachelors degree in mechanical or electrical engineering; background in IC engine thermodynamics is required.

Live short courses can be customized to fit the needs of your organization!


Upon completion of this short course, students will:

  • Understand on-going regulatory/economic/societal changes worldwide and their impact on automotive propulsion technology
  • Review IC engine fundamentals
  • Gain overview of current and future technologies for improved engine performance and fuel economy, principles of operation and future directions for development
  • Understand advances in powertrain systems and hybridization
  • Gain perspective on future trends


Marcello canova

Marcello Canova is an associate professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at The Ohio State University, and associate director for Graduate and Continuing Education at the Center for Automotive Research. His research focuses on the optimization and control of propulsion systems, including internal combustion engines, hybrid-electric drivetrains, energy storage systems and thermal management.

Canova’s work in energy optimization of advanced powertrains has led to significant fuel economy benefits and has been implemented in production programs by major OEMs. In addition, he has published over 110 articles in refereed journals and conference proceedings and received, among others, the SAE Vincent Bendix Automotive Electronics Engineering Award (2009), the SAE Ralph E. Teetor Educational Award (2016), the NSF CAREER Award (2016), the Lumley Research Award (2016) and the Michael J. Moran Award for Excellence in Teaching (2017).